ジャッカス![Jackass!]

  • Author & Artist Scarlet Beriko
  • Released October 2017 by SuBLime Manga [original Japanese release August 2016 by Shinshokan’s Dear+ Comics]
  • Translation: Christine Dashiell
  • Editor(s): Hope Donovan
  • Genre: Drama, Romance

Keisuke Hara and Masayuki Shinoda’s friendship is questionable, but solid as the polar opposite pair seem to work well together despite all odds. However, due to an accident where Keisuke’s older sister’s pantyhose get mixed in with his gym uniform, the pair wind up crossing a forbidden line and their relationship becomes even stranger. Will this encounter change the relationship forever, or will it become just another memory of their school days together?

What’s Inside

The English-language edition of Jackass! contains 6 story chapters, a full-color illustration, a bonus chapter, and an afterward of 3 comic panels and two pages of additional comics (these bonus comics are printed on the inner covers of the Japanese edition). It follows the progression of the changing relationship between high schoolers Keisuke Hara and Masayuki Shinoda following the accidental discovery of one of Masayuki’s kinks. The main cast also includes Keisuke’s out-and-proud friend Katsumi, the school’s doctor Aramaki, and Keisuke’s older sister Akiko, along with a few others.

My Thoughts

Jackass! was my first introduction to Scarlet Beriko some time ago and I’ve honestly been a fan ever since. There’s just this realness to her art and stories and it’s all in the little details that seem to breathe life and motion into an otherwise still image. Her characters are always so memorable and unique and even when the story ends in a good place like this one does, it still leaves you wanting a bit more. Jackass! was actually on the shortlist of manga I was going to use for my Masters thesis, but unfortunately got cut because of time constraints.
I’m still kind of iffy on age-gap relationships (specifically when one partner is a school-aged student), but like I feel like this title started my interest in BL with older men who bottom (which was furthered by titles like Monster and the Beast and 女王と仕立て屋) so that makes it even in some weird way, I guess. However, I will say that I think the final emergent pair deserve their own story some day and I will pay any money I might have to read it.

My Rating

9 / 10 – Definitely a Great Read.
Scarlet Beriko tends to be one of my go-to creators when I need to give out a BL reference because 1) great art, 2) great characters, and 3) great stories. Also because out of my entire BL collection so far I have the most number of her works (quickly seconded by Kotetsuko Yamamoto). I also gave this volume a fairly high score because I practically tore the story apart page-by-page for the sake of analysis. Like here’s a photo of the sides of both my Japanese and English copies with the post-it tabs still in place (there are even more post-it tabs marked at the tops of other pages):

Jackass!, I believe, is a fairly good piece to start with if you haven’t read BL in a while or if you’re fairly new to the more erotic side of the genre. It’s also good if you’ve been reading for a while and are looking for a new single-volume work.

Where to Find It

The English-language translation for Jackass! can be purchased from SuBLime Manga either directly or through its vendors. Print copies will cost around $12.99 before tax, and digital copies will cost around $6.99 before tax. You can find purchasing options for the original Japanese edition through Amazon, or by visiting the Shinshokan website for the volume. Shinshokan has the comic listed for the price of 650 yen without tax. You can also check Shinshokan for a list of Scarlet Beriko‘s other releases! You can also follow Scarlet Beriko on Twitter and Instagram!

Published by JT Grimmfire

one-stop shop for all your spoiler-free manga review needs.

2 thoughts on “ジャッカス![Jackass!]

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started